Start free
Funeral cover

Funeral cover, side by side

The premiums, cover amounts, waiting periods, entry ages and claim pay-out times that South African insurers publish for their funeral plans, copied from each insurer's own page and linked back to it. Enter the cover you want and your age to see which published limits that falls inside. The table is in insurer order — we don't rank or recommend.

  • 6 insurers
  • 4 of 7 plans with published figures
  • Cover, waiting periods and entry ages
  • Last checked

Maximum cover for the main member

R30 000 cover, age 40.

Insurer order, not a ranking. Sort the table and the chart follows.

Showing 7 of 7 plans

InsurerPlanPremium from (a month)Maximum cover, main memberFamily coverWaiting period, natural deathWaiting period, accidentEntry ages, main memberClaim paid withinFits the cover enteredFits the age enteredNotesSourceLast checked
AVBOBAVBOB Cashback Funeral CoverData pendingR50 000Parents and extended family up to R30 000 each; children up to R30 000 (by age)6 monthsNone once the first premium is paidData pendingData pendingYesData pendingWhole-life policy. Accident benefit doubles the main insured's amount (max R20 000) for an accidental death before 60. Cash back of the fifth year's premiums after every five claim-free years. Premiums are by quote only - no premium table is published.AVBOB Cashback Funeral Cover page
CapitecCapitec Funeral PlanData pendingData pendingData pendingData pendingData pendingData pendingData pendingData pendingData pendingcapitecbank.co.za showed a Cloudflare bot check to every fetch on 2 Nov 2026, so nothing could be read off Capitec's own pages yet.Capitec Funeral Plan page
ClienteleClientele Funeral Dignity PlanR370
"From R370 p/m" - the age and cover it applies to are not stated
R50 000R154 000 family cover, up to 13 people on one planData pendingData pendingData pending24 hoursYesData pendingTotal pay-out between R35 000 and R100 000 per the plan comparison. Double accidental death benefit for the main member. Grocery (R3 000) and unveiling (R2 000) benefits, R200 airtime on a claim.Clientele Funeral Plans page
ClienteleClientele Ultimate Dignity PlanR435
"From R435 p/m" - the age and cover it applies to are not stated
R50 000Up to R500 000 family cover, up to 13 people; 3 children at no extra costData pendingData pendingData pending24 hoursYesData pendingTotal pay-out between R30 000 and R100 000. Pays back the deceased member's premiums with a valid death claim (premium payback has a six-month waiting period and excludes children), or half the premiums at 65 if taken before 50.Clientele Funeral Plans page
HollardHollard Funeral OnlineData pendingR50 000Partner at the same amount; up to 5 children at 50% (max R20 000) at no extra premium; up to 4 parents6 monthsNone from the first premium18 to 75Data pendingYesYesSuicide or self-inflicted injury: 12-month waiting period. Premiums and cover increase automatically each year until 65. Premiums are by online quote only - no premium table is published.Hollard Funeral Online page
Old MutualOld Mutual funeral plansData pendingData pendingData pendingData pendingData pendingData pendingData pendingData pendingData pendingoldmutual.co.za returned HTTP 403 (access denied) to every fetch on 2 Nov 2026, including the plan-range page and the Care Funeral Plan PDF, so nothing could be read off Old Mutual's own pages yet.Old Mutual funeral plan range
SanlamSanlam funeral coverData pendingData pendingData pendingData pendingData pendingData pendingData pendingData pendingData pendingsanlam.co.za funeral pages now redirect to sanlamonline.co.za, which returned HTTP 403 (CloudFront) to every fetch on 2 Nov 2026, so nothing could be read off Sanlam's own pages yet.Sanlam online funeral cover

Premiums are monthly and are what the insurer advertises as a starting price — the age and cover a "from" price applies to is usually not stated, and most insurers publish no premium table at all, so your premium depends on a quote. "Maximum cover" is the largest amount for the main member the insurer states; "Waiting period" is for death from natural causes. "Fits the cover entered" and "Fits the age entered" only compare your figures with those published limits. Click a heading to sort; click again to reverse, a third time for insurer order.

How to read the table

  • A waiting period is the time before a natural death is covered - a death in that period is not paid out. Accidental death is usually covered from the first premium.
  • The waiting period can be waived if you switch - several insurers credit the time already served on a policy you are replacing, for the same cover.
  • Children's cover is capped by law - the amount paid for a young child is limited, whatever cover amount the plan has.
  • Premiums and cover often rise every year - check the annual increase in the policy terms, not only the starting premium.
  • A figure we could not read off the insurer's own page shows "Data pending" - we leave it blank rather than guess.

Facts, not advice. This is published product information shown side by side. Plans differ in who they cover, what they exclude and how premiums change over time, and a lower premium or a shorter waiting period does not make a plan the right one. MaxWealth does not rank, recommend or sell any funeral plan, and is not paid by any insurer. Read the insurer's policy terms before you buy.