Tax-free savings accounts, side by side
Published rates and fees for the tax-free savings accounts South African banks and investment platforms offer, copied from each provider's own page and linked back to it. The table is in provider-name order. Sort it any way you like — we don't rank or recommend.
- 12 banks and platforms
- 14 of 19 accounts with published figures
- Limit R46 000 a year, R500 000 lifetime
- Last checked
Interest rate (up to), % a year
Provider-name order, not a ranking. Sort the table and the chart follows.
| Provider | Product | Type | Rate from | Rate up to | Minimum deposit | Minimum debit order | Monthly fee | Platform fee | Brokerage | Fund cost (TER) | Access | Notes | Source | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 10X Investments | Tax-free savings - 10X MSCI World Index Feeder Fund (Class A) | Unit trusts | n/a | n/a | R1 000 | R500 | n/a | Data pending | n/a | 0.60% | Unit trust - sell any time | TER and TIC 0.60% a year (management fee 0.50% plus VAT, other costs 0.02%, transaction costs 0.00%). Initial fee nil. One of several 10X funds offered in the tax-free account; 10X says its fee slides down for larger balances. | 10X MSCI World Index Feeder Fund MDD, September 2026 | |
| Absa | Tax Free Savings Account | Cash savings | 7.25% | 7.90% | Data pending | Data pending | Data pending | n/a | n/a | n/a | Not stated on the rates page | Rates include the 0.25% digital bonus rate. 7.25% from R1 000, 7.30% from R100 000, 7.90% from R250 000. Balances under R1 000 earn 0.35%. Rates last reviewed by Absa on 25 Sep 2026. | Absa rates and fees (Tax Free Savings Account) | |
| Absa | Tax Free Fixed | Fixed deposit | 7.70% | 7.70% | Data pending | n/a | Data pending | n/a | n/a | n/a | Fixed term - interest paid at maturity | 7.70% is the rate Absa publishes for balances from R30 000. Term not shown on the rates page. Last reviewed by Absa on 9 Oct 2026. | Absa rates and fees (Tax Free Fixed) | |
| Absa | Tax-free Investment Account (unit trusts and ETFs) | Unit trusts | n/a | n/a | R5 000 | R250 | n/a | Data pending | Data pending | Data pending | Not stated | Minimum debit order R250 per unit trust fund, R500 per ETF. Absa lists an annual administration fee, an optional adviser fee and fund management fees, but publishes no amounts on the page. | Absa Tax-free Investment Account page | |
| African Bank | Tax-free investment | Fixed deposit | Data pending | Data pending | Data pending | Data pending | Data pending | n/a | n/a | n/a | Data pending | African Bank's site blocked our check on 2 Nov 2026, so no figure is shown. | African Bank website | |
| Capitec | Tax-free savings | Fixed deposit | Data pending | Data pending | Data pending | Data pending | Data pending | n/a | n/a | n/a | Data pending | Capitec's site blocked our check on 2 Nov 2026, so no figure is shown. | Capitec Tax-free savings page | |
| Discovery Bank | Tax-Free Demand Savings Account | Cash savings | 7.00% | 7.00% | Data pending | Data pending | R0 | n/a | n/a | n/a | Demand (instant) - no bank card | 7% nominal annual, compounded monthly. Monthly fee listed as free. EFT out R15, real-time payment R40, transfers between your Discovery accounts free. | Discovery Bank savings rates and fees | |
| EasyEquities | TFSA - shares and ETFs | Shares and ETFs | n/a | n/a | R0 | Data pending | R0 | 0.00% | 0.25% | n/a | Sell any time - paid out in about 5 business days | Fees excl. VAT. Brokerage 0.25% per trade (1c minimum), plus settlement 0.0795% and investor protection levy 0.00031% of value traded. No monthly platform fee. No minimum first deposit. Fund costs depend on the ETF you pick. | EasyEquities ZAR and TFSA cost profile, 12 Feb 2026 | |
| EasyEquities | TFSA - unit trusts | Unit trusts | n/a | n/a | R0 | Data pending | R0 | 0.25% | n/a | n/a | Unit trust - sell any time | Fees excl. VAT. Annual unit trust platform fee 0.25%, charged monthly. No brokerage on unit trusts. Fund costs depend on the fund you pick. | EasyEquities ZAR and TFSA cost profile, 12 Feb 2026 | |
| FNB | Tax-Free Cash Deposit | Cash savings | Data pending | Data pending | Data pending | R0 | R0 | n/a | n/a | n/a | 32 days' notice, no charge | No monthly fee. Monthly contributions are optional. Needs a qualifying FNB transactional account. FNB's rates page blocked our check on 2 Nov 2026, so the rate is not shown. | FNB tax-free accounts FAQ | |
| FNB | Tax-Free Shares | Shares and ETFs | n/a | n/a | R1 000 | R300 | Data pending | Data pending | Data pending | Data pending | Sell any time - paid out per STRATE rules | Lump sum from R1 000 or a monthly R300. No minimum balance. Fees are on a separate FNB page we could not read. | FNB tax-free accounts FAQ | |
| FNB | Tax-Free Unit Trusts | Unit trusts | n/a | n/a | R2 000 | R500 | Data pending | Data pending | n/a | Data pending | Unit trust - withdraw any time, no charge | Deposits from R2 000, monthly transfers from R500. FNB says the fee is a fixed percentage a year agreed up front, but publishes no figure on the page. | FNB tax-free accounts FAQ | |
| Investec | Tax-free investments | Cash savings | Data pending | Data pending | Data pending | Data pending | Data pending | Data pending | n/a | n/a | Data pending | Investec's site blocked our check on 2 Nov 2026, so no figure is shown. | Investec tax-free investments page | |
| Nedbank | Tax-free Savings | Cash savings | 5.50% | 7.25% | R500 | Data pending | R0 | n/a | n/a | n/a | Notice - minimum 24 hours | Rate range as listed by Nedbank. Monthly fee zero. | Nedbank savings and investment accounts | |
| Nedbank | Tax-free Fixed Deposit | Fixed deposit | 7.15% | 7.54% | R1 000 | Data pending | R0 | n/a | n/a | n/a | End of term | Rate at maturity, range as listed by Nedbank. Monthly fee zero. | Nedbank savings and investment accounts | |
| SatrixNOW | Tax-free investment account - ETFs | Shares and ETFs | n/a | n/a | R0 | Data pending | n/a | 0.50% | 0.10% | n/a | Sell any time - paid out in about 5 business days | Fees excl. VAT. Platform fee 0.50% a year on ETF holdings up to R500 000 (0.40% to R1 million, 0.30% above). Brokerage 0.10%, settlement 0.075% of value traded. No minimum. Cost profile version 10.24, linked from satrix.co.za. Fund costs depend on the ETF you pick. | SatrixNOW cost profile (version 10.24) | |
| Standard Bank | Tax-Free Call investment account | Cash savings | 6.58% | 7.28% | R250 | Data pending | Data pending | n/a | n/a | n/a | Anytime - no notice | Nominal rates effective 25 Sep 2026: 6.58% from R250, 6.73% from R15 000, 6.93% from R33 000, 7.03% from R50 000, 7.28% from R100 000. Interest paid monthly. Capital guaranteed. One account per customer. | Standard Bank Tax-Free Call page | |
| Standard Bank | Tax-free Investment account (shares and ETFs) | Shares and ETFs | n/a | n/a | R250 | Data pending | Data pending | 0.12% | 0.15% | n/a | Sell any time - paid 3 business days after the sale | Platform fee is the 0.12% a year safe custody fee (0.01% a month). Brokerage 0.15% with no minimum, STRATE R3.97 per trade, plus VAT. Minimum R250 per trade. Withdrawal R4.56 each. | Standard Bank Tax-free Investment account page | |
| Sygnia | Tax-free savings account | Unit trusts | n/a | n/a | Data pending | Data pending | n/a | Data pending | Data pending | Data pending | Data pending | Sygnia's site blocked our check on 2 Nov 2026 (bot wall), so no figure is shown. | Sygnia tax-free savings page |
Rates are nominal, % a year, as each provider publishes them. Fees are as published (the Notes say where VAT is excluded). "Platform fee" is the provider's annual admin or custody fee as a % of your balance; "Fund cost (TER)" is the fund's own annual cost. "n/a" means the item does not apply to that kind of account. Click a heading to sort; click again to reverse, a third time for provider order.
How to read the table
- SARS caps contributions at R46 000 a tax year and R500 000 in your lifetime, across all your tax-free accounts. The annual limit was R36 000 until 28 February 2026 (SARS, checked 2 November 2026).
- Going over either limit costs a 40% penalty on the excess, collected by SARS as normal tax (same SARS page).
- Two kinds of account are in one table - bank cash accounts pay a published interest rate, while share, ETF and unit trust accounts grow with the market and charge fees instead.
- Bank rates are tiered by balance - "Rate from" and "Rate up to" are the lowest and highest rates the provider publishes, and the Notes show the tiers.
- Platform fees are only part of the cost - the ETF or fund you choose has its own TER, which depends on your pick.
- A figure we could not read off the provider's own page shows "Data pending" - we leave it blank rather than guess.
Facts, not advice. This is published rate and fee information, shown side by side. MaxWealth does not rank, recommend or sell any account, and is not paid by any bank or platform. Rates change often and investment accounts can lose value - confirm with the provider before you open an account.