Savings rates
Savings & fixed-deposit rates, side by side
Published interest rates from nine South African banks, copied from each bank's own rate page and linked back to it. The table is in bank-name order. Sort it any way you like — we don't rank or recommend.
- 9 banks
- 69 products
- Last checked
| Bank | Product | Account type | Term / notice | Min. deposit | Rate from | Up to | Access | Notes | Source | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Absa | Instant Savings | Savings | None | R50 | 6.10% | 7.75% | Instant | tiered by balance, top tier R10m+; entry rate incl 1.90% digital bonus (standard 4.20%); 0% below R50 | absa.co.za | |
| Absa | Notice Select (7-day) | Notice | 7 days notice | R1 000 | 5.85% | 6.85% | Notice | standard rate, 100/0 option; tiered, top tier R10m+; digital bonus adds (6.10% entry) | absa.co.za | |
| Absa | Notice Select (32-day) | Notice | 32 days notice | R1 000 | 6.15% | 7.20% | Notice | standard rate, 100/0 option; tiered, top tier R10m+; digital bonus adds (6.40% entry) | absa.co.za | |
| Absa | Fixed Deposit | Fixed deposit | 3 months | R1 000 | 5.98% | 6.13% | At maturity | interest at maturity; incl digital bonus; tiered, top tier R1m+ | absa.co.za | |
| Absa | Fixed Deposit | Fixed deposit | 6 months | R1 000 | 6.49% | 6.74% | At maturity | interest at maturity; incl digital bonus; tiered, top tier R100,001+ | absa.co.za | |
| Absa | Fixed Deposit | Fixed deposit | 12 months | R1 000 | 7.35% | 7.70% | At maturity | interest at maturity; incl digital bonus; tiered, top tier R100,001+ | absa.co.za | |
| Absa | Fixed Deposit | Fixed deposit | 24 months | R1 000 | 6.69% | 6.74% | At maturity | interest at maturity; incl digital bonus; tiered, top tier R1m+ | absa.co.za | |
| Absa | Fixed Deposit | Fixed deposit | 36 months | R1 000 | 7.11% | 7.31% | At maturity | interest at maturity; incl digital bonus; tiered, top tier R1m+ | absa.co.za | |
| Absa | Fixed Deposit | Fixed deposit | 60 months | R1 000 | 8.59% | 8.64% | At maturity | interest at maturity; incl digital bonus; tiered, top tier R100,001+ | absa.co.za | |
| African Bank | 7 Days Notice Deposit | Notice | 7 days notice | Not stated | 5.61% | 7.02% | Notice | nominal (NACM); tiered by balance, top tier R1m+ | africanbank.co.za | |
| African Bank | 32 Days Notice Deposit | Notice | 32 days notice | Not stated | 6.32% | 7.17% | Notice | nominal (NACM); tiered by balance, top tier R1m+ | africanbank.co.za | |
| African Bank | 90 Days Notice Deposit | Notice | 90 days notice | Not stated | 5.85% | 7.26% | Notice | nominal (NACM); tiered by balance, top tier R250k+ | africanbank.co.za | |
| African Bank | Fixed Deposit | Fixed deposit | 3 months | Not stated | 6.51% | 6.79% | At maturity | nominal (NACM); tiered by balance, top tier R1m+ | africanbank.co.za | |
| African Bank | Fixed Deposit | Fixed deposit | 6 months | Not stated | 6.93% | 7.17% | At maturity | nominal (NACM); tiered by balance, top tier R1m+ | africanbank.co.za | |
| African Bank | Fixed Deposit | Fixed deposit | 12 months | Not stated | 7.26% | 7.49% | At maturity | nominal (NACM); tiered by balance, top tier R1m+ | africanbank.co.za | |
| African Bank | Fixed Deposit | Fixed deposit | 24 months | Not stated | 6.93% | 7.40% | At maturity | nominal (NACM); tiered by balance, top tier R1m+ | africanbank.co.za | |
| African Bank | Fixed Deposit | Fixed deposit | 36 months | Not stated | 7.02% | 7.73% | At maturity | nominal (NACM); tiered by balance, top tier R1m+ | africanbank.co.za | |
| African Bank | Fixed Deposit | Fixed deposit | 60 months | Not stated | 8.05% | 8.47% | At maturity | nominal (NACM); tiered by balance, top tier R1m+ | africanbank.co.za | |
| Capitec | Savings account | Savings | None | Not stated | Not verified | – | Instant | Rate not verified: capitecbank.co.za blocked automated checks on 2026-10-27 | capitecbank.co.za | |
| Capitec | Fixed-term savings | Fixed deposit | None | Not stated | Not verified | – | At maturity | Rate not verified: capitecbank.co.za blocked automated checks on 2026-10-27 | capitecbank.co.za | |
| Discovery Bank | 24-hour Notice Savings Account | Notice | 24 hours notice | Not stated | 4.85% | – | Notice | nominal (NACM) | discovery.co.za | |
| Discovery Bank | 32-day Notice Savings Account | Notice | 32 days notice | Not stated | 7.45% | – | Notice | nominal (NACM) | discovery.co.za | |
| Discovery Bank | 60-day Notice Savings Account | Notice | 60 days notice | Not stated | 7.50% | – | Notice | nominal (NACM) | discovery.co.za | |
| Discovery Bank | 90-day Notice Savings Account | Notice | 90 days notice | Not stated | 7.55% | – | Notice | nominal (NACM) | discovery.co.za | |
| Discovery Bank | Fixed Deposit Account | Fixed deposit | 3 months | R10 000 | 6.85% | – | At maturity | nominal (NACM), interest monthly; 6.89% effective at maturity | discovery.co.za | |
| Discovery Bank | Fixed Deposit Account | Fixed deposit | 6 months | R10 000 | 7.05% | – | At maturity | nominal (NACM), interest monthly; 7.15% effective at maturity | discovery.co.za | |
| Discovery Bank | Fixed Deposit Account | Fixed deposit | 12 months | R10 000 | 7.50% | – | At maturity | nominal (NACM), interest monthly; 7.76% effective at maturity | discovery.co.za | |
| Discovery Bank | Fixed Deposit Account | Fixed deposit | 24 months | R10 000 | 7.75% | – | At maturity | nominal (NACM), interest monthly; 8.35% effective at maturity | discovery.co.za | |
| Discovery Bank | Fixed Deposit Account | Fixed deposit | 36 months | R10 000 | 7.90% | – | At maturity | nominal (NACM), interest monthly; 8.88% effective at maturity | discovery.co.za | |
| Discovery Bank | Fixed Deposit Account | Fixed deposit | 60 months | R10 000 | 8.25% | – | At maturity | nominal (NACM), interest monthly; 10.17% effective at maturity | discovery.co.za | |
| FNB | Savings Account | Savings | None | R1 | 5.90% | 6.50% | Instant | nominal (NACM); tiered by balance, top rate from R100,000; effective 6.06-6.70% | fnb.co.za | |
| FNB | 7 Day Notice | Notice | 7 days notice | R20 000 | 6.05% | 6.55% | Notice | nominal (NACM); lowest published tier R20,000-R49,999, top rate from R100,000; effective 6.22-6.75% | fnb.co.za | |
| FNB | Flexi Fixed Deposit | Fixed deposit | 3 months | R1 | 6.25% | 7.45% | At maturity | nominal; tiered by deposit, top tier R1m+; effective 6.43-7.71% | fnb.co.za | |
| FNB | Flexi Fixed Deposit | Fixed deposit | 12 months | R1 | 6.30% | 7.50% | At maturity | nominal; tiered by deposit, top tier R1m+; effective 6.49-7.76% | fnb.co.za | |
| Investec | Call Deposit | Savings | None | R100 000 | 4.15% | 6.65% | Instant | nominal; tiered by balance, top tier R10m+ (6.86% effective) | investec.com | |
| Investec | PrimeSaver | Savings | None | Not stated | 7.05% | – | Instant | nominal (7.28% effective) below R25m; 6.95% nominal above R25m | investec.com | |
| Investec | 7-Day Notice Deposit | Notice | 7 days notice | R1 000 | 7.25% | – | Notice | nominal; 7.50% annual effective; balances above R1,000 | investec.com | |
| Investec | SmartRate Notice Deposit (0% on demand) | Notice | 32 days notice | R100 000 | 7.75% | – | Notice | nominal; 32-day notice with 0% available on demand; lower if part available on demand | investec.com | |
| Investec | SmartRate Notice Deposit (0% on demand) | Notice | 90 days notice | R100 000 | 7.90% | – | Notice | nominal; 90-day notice with 0% available on demand | investec.com | |
| Investec | Fixed Deposit - Fixed Rate | Fixed deposit | 3 months | R100 000 | 6.63% | 7.08% | At maturity | nominal; tiered by deposit, top tier R1m+ (7.12% period effective) | investec.com | |
| Investec | Fixed Deposit - Fixed Rate | Fixed deposit | 6 months | R100 000 | 6.74% | 7.19% | At maturity | nominal; tiered by deposit, top tier R1m+ (7.30% period effective) | investec.com | |
| Investec | Fixed Deposit - Fixed Rate | Fixed deposit | 12 months | R100 000 | 7.61% | 7.69% | At maturity | nominal; tiered by deposit, top tier R250k+ (7.97% period effective) | investec.com | |
| Investec | Fixed Deposit - Product Special | Fixed deposit | 24 months | Not stated | 7.95% | 8.10% | At maturity | nominal; 8.59% period effective; under-55 rate, over-55 8.10% | investec.com | |
| Investec | Fixed Deposit - Product Special | Fixed deposit | 60 months | Not stated | 8.33% | 8.48% | At maturity | nominal; 10.29% period effective; under-55 rate, over-55 8.48% | investec.com | |
| Nedbank | JustSave | Savings | None | R50 | 4.75% | 6.25% | Instant | p.a.; range across balance tiers (overview page, tier bands not captured) | nedbank.co.za | |
| Nedbank | Money Market | Savings | None | R20 000 | 5.50% | 6.75% | Instant | p.a.; range across balance tiers (overview page, tier bands not captured) | nedbank.co.za | |
| Nedbank | 32Day Notice | Notice | 32 days notice | R250 | 5.95% | 7.80% | Notice | p.a.; range across balance tiers (overview page, tier bands not captured) | nedbank.co.za | |
| Nedbank | Fixed Deposit | Fixed deposit | 3 months | R1 000 | 6.15% | 6.65% | At maturity | nominal p.a., interest monthly; lowest band R1,000-R24,999, top band R1m+; at maturity 6.18-6.68% | nedbank.co.za | |
| Nedbank | Fixed Deposit | Fixed deposit | 6 months | R1 000 | 6.45% | 7.00% | At maturity | nominal p.a., interest monthly; lowest band R1,000-R24,999, top band R1m+; at maturity 6.53-7.10% | nedbank.co.za | |
| Nedbank | Fixed Deposit | Fixed deposit | 12 months | R1 000 | 6.60% | 7.15% | At maturity | nominal p.a., interest monthly; lowest band R1,000-R24,999, top band R1m+; at maturity 6.80-7.38% | nedbank.co.za | |
| Nedbank | Fixed Deposit | Fixed deposit | 24 months | R1 000 | 7.00% | 7.35% | At maturity | nominal p.a., interest monthly; lowest band R1,000-R24,999, top band R1m+; AER 7.22-7.60% | nedbank.co.za | |
| Nedbank | Fixed Deposit | Fixed deposit | 36 months | R1 000 | 7.10% | 7.50% | At maturity | nominal p.a., interest monthly; lowest band R1,000-R24,999, top band R1m+; AER 7.33-7.76% | nedbank.co.za | |
| Nedbank | Fixed Deposit | Fixed deposit | 60 months | R1 000 | 7.45% | 8.20% | At maturity | nominal p.a., interest monthly; lowest band R1,000-R24,999, top band R1m+; AER 7.70-8.51%; at maturity up to 10.09% | nedbank.co.za | |
| Standard Bank | PureSave | Savings | None | R0 | 4.20% | 4.50% | Instant | nominal; interest paid monthly; tiered, top tier R100,000+ | standardbank.co.za | |
| Standard Bank | Notice Deposit (7-day) | Notice | 7 days notice | R250 | 3.34% | 6.02% | Notice | nominal; paid monthly; tiered, top tier R1m+ | standardbank.co.za | |
| Standard Bank | Notice Deposit (32-day) | Notice | 32 days notice | R250 | 4.54% | 7.47% | Notice | nominal; paid monthly; tiered, top tier R1m+ | standardbank.co.za | |
| Standard Bank | Fixed Deposit | Fixed deposit | 3 months | R1 000 | 6.85% | 7.15% | At maturity | rate at maturity; below R10k vs R10k-R99,999; R100k+ on application | standardbank.co.za | |
| Standard Bank | Fixed Deposit | Fixed deposit | 6 months | R1 000 | 7.25% | 7.55% | At maturity | rate at maturity; below R10k vs R10k-R99,999; R100k+ on application | standardbank.co.za | |
| Standard Bank | Fixed Deposit | Fixed deposit | 12 months | R1 000 | 7.85% | 8.15% | At maturity | rate at maturity; below R10k vs R10k-R99,999; R100k+ on application | standardbank.co.za | |
| Standard Bank | Fixed Deposit | Fixed deposit | 24 months | R1 000 | 8.45% | 8.75% | At maturity | rate at maturity; below R10k vs R10k-R99,999; R100k+ on application | standardbank.co.za | |
| Standard Bank | Fixed Deposit | Fixed deposit | 36 months | R1 000 | 8.90% | 9.20% | At maturity | rate at maturity; below R10k vs R10k-R99,999; R100k+ on application | standardbank.co.za | |
| Standard Bank | Fixed Deposit | Fixed deposit | 60 months | R1 000 | 10.65% | 10.95% | At maturity | rate at maturity; below R10k vs R10k-R99,999; R100k+ on application; monthly payout 8.36-8.76% | standardbank.co.za | |
| TymeBank (GoTyme) | GoalSave | Savings | None | Not stated | 6.00% | – | Instant | p.a., flat regardless of amount or duration; max R250,000 across 20 GoalSaves; nominal/effective not stated | gotyme.co.za | |
| TymeBank (GoTyme) | GoalSave bonus rate | Notice | 10 days notice | Not stated | 10.00% | – | Notice | p.a.; requires 10 days' notice and no transfers out; partial withdrawal loses bonus | gotyme.co.za | |
| TymeBank (GoTyme) | Fixed Deposit | Fixed deposit | 3 months | Not stated | 7.75% | – | At maturity | nominal annual; effective 7.98%; simple interest on original deposit, not tiered | gotyme.co.za | |
| TymeBank (GoTyme) | Fixed Deposit | Fixed deposit | 6 months | Not stated | 8.25% | – | At maturity | nominal annual; effective 8.42%; simple interest on original deposit, not tiered | gotyme.co.za | |
| TymeBank (GoTyme) | Fixed Deposit | Fixed deposit | 12 months | Not stated | 8.75% | – | At maturity | nominal annual; effective 8.75%; simple interest on original deposit, not tiered | gotyme.co.za | |
| TymeBank (GoTyme) | Fixed Deposit | Fixed deposit | 24 months | Not stated | 9.25% | – | At maturity | nominal annual; page shows effective 8.86% (below nominal - simple interest at maturity); not tiered | gotyme.co.za | |
| TymeBank (GoTyme) | Fixed Deposit | Fixed deposit | 36 months | Not stated | 9.75% | – | At maturity | nominal annual; page shows effective 8.93% (below nominal - simple interest at maturity); not tiered | gotyme.co.za |
Rate from = the rate at the bank's lowest balance tier. Up to = its highest tier. Click a heading to sort; click again to reverse, a third time for bank order.
How to read the table
- Every rate is a % a year, as the bank publishes it - the Notes say whether that is nominal (often "NACM", compounded monthly) or effective, so compare like with like.
- Most rates are tiered by balance - "Rate from" is the entry tier and "Up to" the top tier. Your rate depends on how much you put in.
- Some fixed-deposit rates are paid at maturity and some monthly; a rate paid at maturity looks higher for the same deal.
- Rates change after every Reserve Bank decision and with bank specials, so check the linked page before you open an account.
- Interest up to R23 800 a year is tax-free for under-65s (R34 500 for 65 and older), per the SARS Budget 2026 FAQ.
- A rate we could not read on the bank's own site is marked "Not verified" - we leave it blank rather than guess. Right now that is Capitec: the bank's site would not let us read its rates on 27 October 2026. Use the link in the table.
Facts, not advice. This is published information about each product, shown side by side. MaxWealth does not rank, recommend or sell any account, and is not paid by any bank. Confirm the rate and the terms with the bank before you invest.